OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Walking Down the Wild

Email this to someoneTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on FacebookShare on Google+

“A clear-eyed vision of what’s at stake in the battle over wilderness in America. This is a terrific book.”

-William Kittridge

Walking Down the Wild: A Journey Through the Yellowstone Rockies
Walking Down the Wild: A Journey Through the Yellowstone Rockies

Simon & Schuster, 1993
paperback

 

This book is above all one man’s unique perspective on the Yellowstone Rockies.

Excerpt

There are very few clouds in the western sky. The sun goes down easy, gently dousing the coral light that lays unruffled on the river, and then slowly pulling shadows up the trunks and branches of the fir and pines. I do not often build a fire in summer, but tonight I do.

Tonight is different, and I feel like being surrounded by the old symbols of life on the ground-the smell of smoke, the warmth and color of the flames. In the very last of the light I try to write a few notes, but it’s nearly impossible to see what I’m doing. And besides, right now I’m not up to interpretations. It seems better just to lay a few more sticks on the fire. And dream.

Synopsis

Walking Down the Wild is the story of a five hundred-mile trek through the magnificent Yellowstone Rockies – a spirited adventure in the tradition of William Least Heat Moon’s Blue Highways, and Barry Lopez’ Arctic Dreams. Along the way you’ll learn of harrowing journeys by early explorers, of the myths and legends of Native peoples, of the glorious weave of flora and fauna that blankets the land even today. This book is above all one man’s unique perspective on the Yellowstone Rockies. A perspective shaped from a slow, deliberate walk through the secret nooks and crannies of the land, from listening to the stories of the people who live there, from basking in the sights and sounds, the fears and joys, of untrammeled nature.

Reviews

“A clear-eyed vision of what’s at stake in the battle over wilderness in America. This is a terrific book.”
William Kittridge

“An adept blending of local history with personal experience, biology with politics, to create a complex portrait of the Yellowstone ecosystem.”
Los Angeles Times

“Nature writing at its very best. America, the beautiful, has never seemed more wondrous.”
Winston-Salem Journal

“A grand adventure, a vicarious escape into the backcountry seldom visited … a vivid portrayal of the intense inner beauty of the Yellowstone ecosystem.”
Rocky Mountain News